If you’ve decided to block someone on Instagram and are wondering what happens when you block someone on Instagram, there are a few things to remember. Even though Instagram does not notify the user when you block or unblock someone on Instagram, understanding the changes that come with these actions will save you from a lot of embarrassment down the road.
Almost everything mentioned in this guide was tested using my personal Instagram accounts. One of the main reasons behind this is that even though there are Instagram guidelines surrounding this question, I wanted to see it from a real-life scenario perspective.
If you have any questions or queries, please leave them in the comments section down below and I will update the article accordingly if needed.
What Happens When You Block Someone on Instagram
When you block someone, they basically lose any or all the means to communicate with you or your IG account. Unlike Facebook, they might be able to figure out if you have blocked them on Instagram. This is because of the way Instagram handles public accounts and posts on Instagram, thus the block is not really replicated everywhere throughout Instagram.
If I were to list all the major changes you should keep in mind when you block someone on Instagram, they would be:
- Instagram will not notify you whenever you block or unlock them.
- You should block that account on Facebook as well since they might be able to contact you via Facebook still.
- If you both mutually follow a public account and have interacted with that public account, you both will be able to open each other’s IG profile.
- The person you blocked will get a “User not found” message and an option to follow their account which they won’t be able to.
- Previous conversations you had via direct messages are not deleted. In fact, the blocked user can send messages to the DM but you will not receive anything. The sender also does not see anything that indicated that they have been blocked.
- You cannot reply to a message on Instagram or send a new message to the blocked user without unlocking them first. If you decide to unblock them, any messages they might have sent during the block period will not come through.
- The blocked user will not be able to search and find your account even though they remember your username. Please remember that the username is different from the display name.
- All of the likes and comments on each other’s posts disappear and won’t be reverted back if you decide to unblock them in the future.
- You will need to follow them back if you unblock them after blocking them.
- If you both are in a group conversation on IG, you are given a choice to leave the group or stay. You will see the messages from the blocked user or account if you decide not to leave the group convo.
1. Can someone still see you if you block them on Instagram?
They won’t be able to see your profile content or anything you post on your Instagram. However, if you both follow a mutual account, they will be able to see your comment and likes on that mutual IG account.
They will be able to tap on your comment and access your profile but all they will see is a “User not found” message every time they open your profile. The follow button is available to them, but they won’t be able to follow you.
I have tested this personally but was not able to replicate it all the time, but Instagram has mentioned this on their help center guide so this has to be true.
If you have not checked our previous Instagram guide on what to do if Instagram reels are not working.
2. Does blocking someone on Instagram delete messages?
No, blocking someone on Instagram does not delete messages. Both of you will be able to see the older conversations at all times.
The blocked user will be able to send new messages to you as if nothing has changed. On your end, you won’t be able to send them any messages or see new messages without unblocking them first.
If a blocked user has sent you messages during the period they were blocked and you decide to unblock them in the future, you will not see any of those messages they sent you.
3. What does it look like on Instagram when someone blocks you?
As long as the persona who blocked you still has an active IG account and you somehow access their Instagram profile, you will see a “User not found” message and a follow button. See the screenshot below for reference on how it looks like on Instagram when someone blocks you.
4. What happens when you block someone on Instagram but your profile is public?
Nothing happens in particular as opposed to when you have a private account. The only thing that might be different is that they will be able to find out that you have blocked them if they open your account using someone else’s Instagram account.
Hopefully, you were able to find some answers to your What Happens When You Block Someone On Instagram question.
If you would like me to replicate some scenarios that you have found yourself in and would like to know how or what happens, leave them in the comments section down below.
Please share this with others that might find this useful.